General Prestige Class : Initiate of the Dragonic Mysteries

Not all who explore the mysterious powers of dragons do so out of heritage or religious faith. Some become students of knowledge that leads to greater power.

Most initiates of the draconic mysteries are monks, though some fighters follow the path as well. In rare cases, barbarians, rangers, or rogues have been known to become initiates.

NPC initiates may gather in quiet places of study to share their learning and practice their techniques. Or they may test their powers in the field, either alone or with others who respect their ways. Regardless of her company, the initiate of the draconic mysteries remains a strange and wondrous individual, set apart from others of her race by her pursuit of ancient secrets.


To qualify to become an Initiate of the Dragonic Mysteries, a character must fulfill all the following criteria:

Class Skills

The initiate's class skills are Balance, Concentration, Diplomacy, Escape Artist, Heal, Knowledge (arcana), Knowledge (religion), Listen, Spot, and Tumble.

Skill Points at Each Level: 4 + Int modifier.

Class Features

All of the following are class features of the initiate of draconic mysteries prestige class.

Weapon and Armor Proficiency: An initiate of the draconic mysteries gains no proficiency with any weapon, armor, or shields.

Evasion (Ex): An initiate of the draconic mysteries can avoid even magical and unusual attacks with great agility. If an initiate makes a successful Reflex saving throw against an attack that normally deals half damage on a save (such as a red dragon's fiery breath or a fireball), the initiate instead takes no damage.

Evasion can only be used if the initiate is wearing light armor or no armor.

Claws of the Dragon (Su): At 2nd level, the unarmed strike of an initiate of the draconic mysteries is empowered with draconic might. The initiate's unarmed strike can overcome damage reduction as if it were a magic weapon.

In addition, the unarmed strikes of an initiate of the draconic mysteries may deal slashing damage, at her option. Such damage cannot be nonlethal damage.

Keen Senses (Ex): At 3rd level, an initiate gains darkvision out to 60 feet and low-light vision.

Increased Unarmed Damage (Ex): At 4th level, the damage dealt by an initiate's unarmed attacks increases by one die step (such as from 1d3 to 1d4, or from 1d8 to 1d10. At 8th level, it increases another die step.

Frightful Presence (Ex): A 5th-level initiate of the draconic mysteries can unsettle foes with her mere presence. The initiate can activate her frightful presence as a free action. Creatures within a radius of 30 feet per point of Charisma modifier (minimum 30 feet) are subject to the effect if they have fewer Hit Dice than the initiate (dragons are immune to the effect).

A potentially affected creature that succeeds on a Will save (DC 10 + initiate's class level + initiate's Cha modifier remains immune to that initiate's frightful presence for 24 hours. On a failure, creatures with 4 or fewer HD become panicked for 2d6 rounds and those with 5 or more HD become shaken for 2d6 rounds.

Improved Evasion (Ex): At 6th level, an initiate's evasion ability improves. She still takes no damage on a successful Reflex saving throw against attacks such as a dragon's breath weapon or a fireball, but henceforth she only takes half damage on a failed save.

Spell Resistance (Su): Beginning at 7th level, an initiate of the draconic mysteries gains spell resistance equal to 15 + her class level.

Deadly Strike (Su): A 9th-level initiate deals triple damage on a critical hit inflicted by her unarmed strike, regardless of whether it dealt bludgeoning or slashing damage.

Timeless Body (Ex): After attaining 9th level, an initiate no longer takes ability score penalties for aging and cannot be magically aged. Any penalties she may have already taken, however, remain in place. Bonuses still accrue, and the initiate still dies of old age when her time is up.

Dragon Shape (Su): At 10th level, an initiate of the draconic mysteries gains the ability to use a shapechange ability once per day to take the form of a dragon, from Tiny to Huge size, for 1 hour. Once a form is assumed, it cannot be changed except to return to normal (which dismisses the effect). The effect is otherwise identical to the shapechange spell, including the HD limitation of the new form and the abilities of the form gained.

Initiate Of The Dragonic MysteriesHit Die: d8
2nd+1+3+3+3Claws of the dragon
3rd+2+3+3+3Keen senses
4th+3+4+4+4Increased unarmed damage
5th+3+4+4+4Frightful presence
6th+4+5+5+5Improved evasion
7th+5+5+5+5Spell resistance
8th+6+6+6+6Increased unarmed damage
9th+6+6+6+6Deadly strike, timeless body
10th+7+7*7+7Dragon shape

Source: Draconomicon

General Prestige Classes