General Prestige Class : Loredelver

"I think of myself as a liberator. It's my job to liberate the ancient lore - not to mention the vast wealth that has been imprisoned by history." - Stormwind Vaora, loredelver

Loredelvers are illumian spellcasters who find and explore ruins, disable the magical protections that guard them, and sift through the ancient secrets found within. They rarely spend time in the enclaves of the illumians, instead crisscrossing the world in search of archaic lore for their cabal's library.

Becoming A Loredelver

Most characters become loredelvers after taking at least five levels of wizard and one or two levels of rogue. A few sorcerers wind up in the class, but they need to take extra levels in the rogue class to gain the requisite skill ranks.

Bards who lean toward exploration and discovery sometimes enter this class after picking up a level of rogue, but give up significant bardic abilities to do so.


To qualify to become a Loredelver, a character must fulfill all the following criteria:

Class Skills

The loredelver's class skills are Balance, Climb, Concentration, Decipher Script, Disable Device, Jump, Knowledge (arcana), Knowledge (architecture and engineering), Knowledge (dungeoneering), Knowledge (history), Open Lock, Profession, Search, Speak Language, and Spellcraft.

Skill Points at Each Level: 6 + Int modifier.

Class Features

As a loredelver, your class features relate to your core mission of exploring tombs, ruins, and forgotten sites looking for ancient manuscripts and other lore. Your spellcasting ability continues to advance at nearly its full rate, bolstered by a few spell-like class abilities that augment your ability to find magical auras and defeat traps.

Spells per Day: At each level after 1st, you gain new spells per day (and spells known, if applicable) as if you had also gained a level in an arcane spellcasting class to which you belonged before adding the prestige class level. You do not, however, gain any other benefit a character of that class would have gained. If you had more than one arcane spellcasting class before becoming a loredelver, you must decide to which class to add each level for the purpose of determining spells per day and spells known.

Bardic Knowledge (Ex): Loredelvers extensively study the reports of their fellow loredelvers as well as historical and magical texts. You can attempt to recall some relevant piece of information about local notable people, legendary items, or noteworthy places. You use your loredelver level + your Intelligence modifier (plus levels in bard, if any) to make bardic knowledge checks.

Magical Insight (Ex): A loredelver has an uncanny insight into the workings of magic. You gain a +5 insight bonus on Spellcraft checks made to determine the school of magic of magical auras.

Detect Magic (Sp): A loredelver develops a preternatural sense for the presence of magic. At 2nd level and higher, you can use detect magic (as the spell) at will.

Evasion (Ex): Beginning at 3rd level, you have a hair-trigger sense of dangerous magic. If you are exposed to any effect that normally allows you to attempt a Reflex saving throw for half damage, you take no damage with a successful saving throw.

Spontaneous Casting (Su): At 4th level, you gain the ability to spontaneously cast certain spells using your existing arcane spell slots. You can "lose" any prepared spell or spell slot of the designated level to cast a specific spell. You use your highest arcane caster level as the caster level for the spell.

At 4th level and higher, you can "lose" any prepared spell or spell slot of 2nd level or higher to cast knock.

At 7th level and higher, you can "lose" any prepared spell or spell slot of 4th level or higher to cast arcane eye. At 10th level, you can "lose" any prepared spell or spell slot of 6th level or higher to cast greater dispel magic.

Fearless (Ex): At 5th level, you have learned to steel yourself against the horrors that guard the places you're exploring. You gain immunity to fear, magical or otherwise.

Arcane Sight (Sp): By the time you reach 6th level, you have honed your sensitivity to the magical auras that surround you. You can use arcane sight (as the spell) at will.

Improved Evasion (Ex): Beginning at 8th level, you can avoid damage from certain attacks with a successful Reflex save and take only half damage on a failed save.

Greater Arcane Sight (Su): At 9th level, you have reached the pinnacle of magical sensitivity. You can use greater arcane sight (as the spell) at will.

LoredelverHit Die: d4
1st+0+0+2+2Bardic knowledge, magical insight-
2nd+1+0+3+3Detect magic+1 level of existing arcane spellcasting class
3rd+1+1+3+3Evasion+1 level of existing arcane spellcasting class
4th+2+1+4+4Spontaneous casting (knock)+1 level of existing arcane spellcasting class
5th+2+1+4+4Fearless+1 level of existing arcane spellcasting class
6th+3+2+5+5Arcane sight+1 level of existing arcane spellcasting class
7th+3+2+5+5Spontaneous casting (arcane eye)+1 level of existing arcane spellcasting class
8th+4+2+6+6Improved evasion+1 level of existing arcane spellcasting class
9th+4+3+6+6Greater arcane sight+1 level of existing arcane spellcasting class
10th+5+3+7+7Spontaneous casting (greater dispel magic)+1 level of existing arcane spellcasting class

Source: Races of Destiny

General Prestige Classes