Other Exclusive Prestige Class : Ravager

Feared by many, understood by few, the infamous Ravager is an individual who has dedicated himself to the service of Erythnul, Deity of Slaughter. Living a life of violence and savagery the Ravager seeks to spread this deity's malignant influence wherever he goes, never resting long in one place lest the forces of good and law pursue him.

Ravagers who come from the ranks of fighters and monks find that the Ravager's offensive capabilities enhance their combat skills, while wizard, sorcerer, cleric and druid Ravagers find that their ability to cause terror in their foes is a very useful defensive measure. Ravagers spend much of their time with others of their kind, roaming the land in small, close-knit warbands, striking unsuspecting communities without warning, and retiring back into the wilderness to plan their next terrible raid. Sometimes the clergy of Erythnul commands a lone Ravager to undertake some mission or project that obliges the Ravager to join up with other, non-Ravager individuals, but such alliances are usually temporary and must be managed carefully lest they lead to quarrels or worse.

NPC Ravagers are usually encountered in small warbands of from two to six individuals, but sometimes a lone Ravager may be met when undertaking a special mission.

All Ravagers are readily identified by the bizarre and fearsome facial tattoos they wear to mark themselves as Erythnul's instruments.


To qualify to become a Ravager, a character must fulfill all the following criteria:

Class Skills

The ravager's class skills are Intimidate, Knowledge (religion), Move Silently, Profession, and Ride.

Skill Points at Each Level: 2 + Int modifier.

Class Features

Weapon and Armor Proficiency: All Ravagers are proficient with all simple and martial weapons, with all types of armor, and with shields.

Pain Touch: Erythnul reaches that life is pain, and so is the touch of a Ravager. A Ravager can make an unarmed touch attack that causes 1d8 hit points of damage, plus one point per the Ravager's level. Weapon attacks also transmit the pain of Erythnul, but only at the rate of 1d4 extra points of damage, plus 1 point per the Ravager's level. The Ravager may make one additional pain touch attack for every three levels above 1st.

Aura of Fear: Enemies within the stated distance of the Ravager suffer a -2 morale penalty on all saving throws for as long as they remain within range. This is a supernatural ability, usable a number of times per day as given on the table.

Cruelest Cut: Your familiarity with pain and fear grants you a cruel precision with your melee attacks. You must declare you are using cruelest cut before making any attack rolls. If you miss all your attack in that round, you lose one use of the cruelest cut. If you strike successfully you deal 1d4 points of temporary Constitution damage to your target, in addition to normal damage on one attack. You may use cruelest cut once per day for every three levels you have attained.

Visage of Terror: You have plumbed the true depths of horror and hopelessness. Once per day you can trigger a spell-like ability similar to the arcane spell phantasmal killer (save DC 14 + the Ravager's class level) as a standard action. To the foe you select, you seem to take on the visage of what the target fears most. To others including yourself, no effect is discernible. In order for the phantasm to touch the target, the Ravager must make a successful touch attack. In all other respects, this ability functions as the spell in the Player's Handbook.

RavagerHit Die: d10
1st+1+2+0+0Pain touch 1/day
2nd+2+3+0+0Aura of fear 10, 1/day
3rd+3+3+1+1Cruelest cut 1/day
4th+4+4+1+1Pain touch 2/day
5th+5+4+1+1Aura of fear 20' 2/day
6th+6+5+2+2Cruelest cut 2/day
7th+7+5+2+2Pain touch 3/day
8th+8+6+2+2Aura of fear 30' 3/day
9th+9+6+3+3Cruelest cut 3/day
10th+10+7+3+3Visage of terror

Source: Compete Warrior
Sword and Fist

Other Exclusive Prestige Classes